Skip to content

It’s been awhile

September 21, 2006
         It’s been awhile since I have written.  For the last 10 days I have had a seven year old boy staying with me at my house.  So, now I know what is it like for the full time mom’s out there who also are trying to do a full time job outside the house!  I did the "getting a babysitter thing" a few times  and the "working from home thing"  some as well.  I found out that did not work too well!  But most of all I tried to give him lots of attention being he was going through a very tough time in his life.  I made three healthy meals a day.   I have not eaten three healthy meals a day in years!  He was afraid to sleep anywhere else but my room with me, so I went to bed earlier than I usually do…and got up earlier too.  But my time as full time mom is over.  I am back to the single life with just one full time job!  All that is left of my little visitor is some little boy clothes in my laundry basket.  I will miss him,  but it was time for him to move on and time for me to get back to all the stuff that I didn’t get done while he was living with me.
          We have lots of things going on here.  There are TEN kids matched with adoptive families, so we know the next few months are going to be busy with adoptive families coming to claim their darlings,  that is always an exciting time.   Tonight we were able to tell Jeson, Cherramee and April Boy that they have an adoptive family waiting for them.  Another CSC family has been made! 
           At school the Band is already busy practicing Christmas songs and choosing the actors for each part in our Christmas Play.  The Malls are playing Christmas songs already too. I had to come to the Philippines to learn that when we are in the BRRRRRR months Christmas songs  simply have to be played.  And  we are in the BRRRR months, Septembrrrr, Octobrrrr……..!  We have at least four months of Christmas carols, and no one seems to want to let the Carols stop in January, so we still have them then too.  Christmas with all these kids is grand…but four plus months of  "Frosty the Snowman" and  "Walking in a Winter Wonderland" in the heat of each day here does little to "get us in the spirit".  We have other reasons to get into the spirit….being able to share Christ’s birthday with all these darling kids, some for the first time is the only reason I need. This is an amazing place to spend Christmas,  but I do miss the snow.
            Okay, I am back to my single life….guess I will do some emailing and checking out some of the Blogs and websites I like to follow, I may even watch that stupid show "Beauty and the Geek" and maybe even have a  (likely unhealthy) midnight snack.  This single life isn’t so bad.
          
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

