Skip to content

IT WAS A GOOD DAY!!

November 11, 2007
    I got my kid fix today. CSC hosted an adoptive family event.  We invited a couple of professional counselors to share with the parents and the older kids regarding adoption issues in general, but centered on attachment issues specifically for the majority of the event.  I had hoped to be able to listen to the speakers but ended up being on KID DUTY…and I loved it of course.  I am sure that they was lots I could  have learned by listening…..but I guess that I will just have to read all the books they suggested.   It was fun to be with the kids though,  some of them have been living  here in Minnesota for more than 10 years, and some of them for only a few months, but they all knew they were CSC KIDS and basketball was the game that brought everyone together, just like in Cebu.
     Today was also a good reminder for me….the slogan that CSC has on all its literature is that "every child deserves a family".  That is the heart and soul of CSC…permanance in a family.  We talked about some of the problems that some of the families have had and talked about how the families can deal with the issues that come up and prepare for those that will. But more importantly, these parents were given some thoughts and "tools" to use now to help assure that other problems do not have to occur at all.  I love being able to be a part of the kids lives…even now, after they have been in their adoptive families for years. It was a good day….and I got to see some darling CSC KIDS too!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

