Skip to content

A BLESSED THANKSGIVING TO YOU ALL

November 27, 2009
     We have much to be thankful for….sometimes we need reminders of that though.  Here in the Philippines we are dealing with the news that over 50 people were brutally killed just because they were supporting the "wrong" political party….just one story of thousands all over the world of the depravity of man. What have we done with this world that God created for us?   BUT…..Thanksgiving is a time to dwell on what we have to be thankful for. 
     I am thankful that I have a God who promises me eternal life and a God whom I know is even more saddened and angered at all the injustice and wrong in the world than I am.  I am also thankful that I have a place where I can experience the good that life has to offer.  God has blessed,  is blessing and will bless CSC  ( look back a couple of blogs to see why I know that! )  I try to be thankful  every day but Thanksgiving Day is a good time to consider all  the blessings that we have.  I am so thankful for my family back in the USA, I am thankful for good health and for a lifetime of wonderful memories and the confidence that there are many more good memories to come.  I am thankful that I have a job that I can share with 70 amazing kids.  Kids who needed a bit of help and God enabled us to be here for them.  It is a blessing to be in the right place at the right time.  I thank God for the ability to be here to experience what He has for me to experience.   Today was a wonderful reminder of that.  We all gathered to celebrate Thanksgiving mid afternoon at school. We had a program explaining to the kids just what Thanksgiving is and why we celebrate it.   We had actors and  silly games.  THe results of a turkey coloring contest were announced…the four winners of the contest were invited to join the American Staff at our Thanksgiving dinner.  It was so fun to share our Thanksgiving meal with them.   We had turkey, mashed potatos,  dressing, sweet potatos,  deviled eggs,  green bean hotdish,  homemade bread, pumpkin pie, cranberries and more.  Many of the things that the four kids tasted tonight were new taste sensations for them.  What fun to experience "firsts" with our kids!  Turkey, mashed potatos,  sweet potatos and deviled eggs were the most popular….olives were an overwhelming NO! and cranberries and pumpkin pie were just "okay".  The kids smiled the whole evening.  I am thankful for our kids and that they now have something to smile about – not just  a Thanksgiving meal – but they have a future and they know they have a God that cares about them.   Enjoy what God has given you.   Here are a few photos and smiles to add to your Thanksgiving!
 
 
 
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

