Skip to content

RAIN, PUPPETS, TREASURES and two kinds of CHANGE

August 6, 2011

We are still getting lots of rain,  but thankfully no more flooding in our storerooms.

We have a new after school activity;  Puppets.   Twelve of our kids are in a  once-a-week class to learn how to use puppets.  They will be putting on a show for one and all in a couple of months.  They will  even be making their own puppets.  It is great to see the kids use their creativity and imagination once their hand gets inside a puppet.  My good friend Mary (A  BGC Missionary) and her friend Diday,  are the teachers.

I had  five “piggy” banks full of coins that  I have been collecting for the past few years.   I decided that it was time to do something about them.  The kids thought they had discovered a treasure chest when they saw my stash!  They had never seen so many coins in one place before.   We had a great time,  as well as  mathematics practice,  figuring out just how much money I had!  The grand total was over 6,000 pesos  (over 12,000 individual coins)  –  just under $150. The kids are pretty sure that I am rich now……they  thought it weird that I called all these coins “change” – they wanted to know what I was going to change it  all to!

We have recently said goodbye to some kids… a first hello to others and even got the good news that more will be able to have an adoptive family.  This has certainly been a year of change at CSC.  Change is good. Both kinds of change.

Speaking of change,  I am going to be changing the Island that I live on.  I will exchange the island of Cebu (125 miles long and 25 miles wide) for the “Island” of North America.  I will have hot running water,   a garage door opener,   a dryer, grocery stores that I seem to remember have way too many choices,  roads that I will be able to drive over 20 miles per hour on,  gas stations where I have to pump my own gas,  electricity that is reliable,  I won’t see naked kids playing on the road side,  I will be in a place that I look like I belong (as opposed to being an obvious foreigner here) but in actuality I will feel like a foreigner there ….but I am ready.      I am NOT ready to say goodbye here but looking forward to saying hello to my family and friends there.  You gotta love change.

Enjoy the photos!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

